To The Seminary Bored

Written on the Occasion of my Retirement 2009

                                A FARED-ME-WELL REQUIREMENT

     You may be surprised to learn that in 1953 I was enrolled in the Dale Carnegie course on How to Win Friends and Influence People.  You will not be surprised to learn that I failed the course.

      What I remember is the advice to always speak in terms of the other persons’ interest. I recognize that the following testimony on my way out the door is not likely to fit that recommendation.  Nevertheless, 

     The last 30 years at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary have provided a happy life for me, and I wish I had 30 more.  Therefore, I want to thank you for a precious gift that I contemplate with the deepest gratitude, and which you may be unaware that you bestowed upon me.  And a few generations of students, so I like to think.

     I came to the Seminary from university teaching under the format of two 14 week semesters and a January term. To my mind church history should be taught minimally and ideally in four required courses: 1. Pre-Christian and Patristic, 2. Medieval, 3. Renaissance/Reformation and 4. Modern.

      Oddly and practically, for most of my 30 years in Pittsburgh there have been two professors and three required courses.  Church History I covered 2,500 years from the beginning to the Reformation.  Church History III covered the modern 400 years and Church History II covered the 100 years of the sixteenth century.  A Protestant Theological Seminary with a required course in the Reformation carried to full term strikes me as a situation to be described in the words of our greatest poet:  “O wonderful, wonderful, and most wonderful wonderful” (AYLI III.2. 194)

      I suspect and predict that if PTS ever goes to a two semester format, Church History cannot be accorded three required courses and the victim will be the history of the Reformation which will be treated either as the conclusion of early and medieval history or as the introduction to modern church history. 

     Whatever the future requires at Pittsburgh Seminary, I am grateful that the past required a full third of the history requirements to be devoted to the Reformations of the sixteenth century and permitted me to try to teach them.

4 thoughts on “To The Seminary Bored”

  1. Was there more than just this page?  I hope so – your writing is always so uplifting. How are you, anyway, besides your normal self?  Hope you are fine and are having good days. Tomorrow, my day is in danger as I am one of the reps for Shadyside to “go” to Presbytery.  Sigh.  It’s just not my thing at all.  So much talking, but maybe if it’s a corporation or something you have to have all of those number things, organizational things, changes, etc., etc., but it sure is boring. Did you get the news that Hugh had died – 1/27?  We are sad, but are glad that he is at peace.  Life wasn’t very fulfilling for him.  We will have a memorial service for him in the fall.  This is a tough time for so many. Anyway, try to behave – just a little, and know that you are in my prayers every night, although I reckon you’ll do whatever you want with or without them! Hugs – hahahahaha, Gail

    Like

  2. This is a excellent summary of the importance of the Reformation—not to mention the importance of the Professor who teaches it.

    Your friend forever,

    Fred

    >

    Like

  3. That class on the Reformation along with the one on Calvin’s Institutes remains my favorite memories of those heady days at PTS. Of course, the headiness came from beer, which I really didn’t consume much before moving to Pittsburgh in my late 20s to attend seminary. Being a good Southerner, I had normally drank bourbon or Scotch. The ‘burg corrupted me, but it was a wonderful three years and you were a part of it.

    Was there another page to this letter?

    https://fromarockyhillside.com

    Like

Leave a comment